Kinship and Alternate Care

Disclaimer: this section is intended as a supplementary resource for caregivers. It is not intended as a legal/financial authority, please speak with a professional for further guidance.

• Ontario Permanency Funding
  Provides subsidies for caregivers when eligibility criteria and conditions are met.
• Temporary Care Assistance
  Provides income assistance and benefits to an adult on behalf of children or youth for whom they are caring temporarily and where the caregiver is not receiving compensation under the Child, Youth, and Family Services Act, 2017. Apply online or visit your local Ontario Works office.
• Government of Ontario Supports
  Presents information about health/dental care, child care/education, and special needs supports in Ontario. 
  • Teeth cleaning, check-ups and dental treatment for kids
    Healthy Smiles Ontario is a government-funded dental program that provides free preventive, routine, and emergency dental services for eligible children and youth under 17 years of age.
  • Financial Support for Child Care
    Subsidies and grants are available to help those eligible to pay for child care or to support children with special needs.
  • Education Liaison 
    Supports educational needs/outcomes of children and youth served by child welfare agencies by helping to identify, access, navigate and strengthen educational supports and community resources relevant to their needs.
  • 2024-25 Student Transportation Fund
    Provides funding to improve equitable access to student transportation services, where eligibility criteria are met. 
  • Family support and respite for children and youth with special needs
    Parents or caregivers of a child or youth with special needs can apply for funding to purchase supports.
    • Assistance for Children with Severe Disabilities Program
      Provides financial support for families to cover some of the extra costs of caring for a child who has a severe disability, where eligibility criteria are met.
    • Special Services at Home
      Funding to help with costs related to respite, support for daily activities, personal growth and development for children/youth with physical and/or developmental disabilities.
    • Ontario Autism Program
      Provides funding and information about service options for children/youth with autism.
    • Enhanced Respite Program 
      Provides families of medically-fragile and/or technology-dependent children and youth with funding to purchase respite care
  • Gender Confirming Surgery
    Provides information about what pieces of gender confirming surgery are covered under OHIP and how to apply.
    • Gender and Sex Information on Government IDs and Forms
      Offers information about changing gender identity and sex designations on governments identifications and forms.
• Tax credits and benefits for individuals 
  Includes benefit programs, eligibility, application instructions, and payment dates.
  • Canada Child Benefit
    Tax-free monthly payment made to eligible families to help with the cost of raising children and youth under 18 years of age. For provincial and territorial benefits visit this page.
  • Child Disability Benefit
    Tax-free benefit for families who care for a child or youth under the age of 18 who is eligible for the disability tax credit.
  • Canada Learning Bond
    Up to $2,000 to help eligible families start saving early for their child's or youth’s education after high school (post-secondary education).
• Services for First Nations and Inuit children and youth 
  Access health care services and funding for Indigenous children and youth.
  • First Nation Representative Services (or Band Representative Services)
    Supports customary care, kinship care and alternate care arrangements. 
  • Jordan's Principle
    Makes sure First Nations children and youth can access the products, services and supports they need, when they need them. Funding can help with a wide range of health, social and educational needs, including the unique needs that First Nations Two-Spirit and LGBTQQIA children and youth and those with disabilities may have.  
  • Inuit Child First Initiative 
    Ensures Inuit children and youth have access to the essential government funded health, social and educational products, services and supports they need, when they need them.
  • Non-insured health benefits for First Nations and Inuit 
    Provides coverage for drugs, dental and vision care, medical supplies and equipment, mental health counselling and medical transportation.
  • Métis Nation of Ontario supports
    Delivers programs and services to its citizens in areas such as: healing and wellness, education and training, community wellbeing, and more.