Supports for Youth Exiting Care

Project Outsiders is a First Voice podcast that aims to highlight the vulnerabilities of the child welfare system.

This video features Sam, a former youth in care, describing themselves, their experiences of stress, and some of their coping techniques.

This video features Rose, a former youth in care, describing themselves, their experiences of stress, and some of their coping techniques.

Recommendations from a Black therapist about how Black women can focus on healing from adverse experiences in the child welfare system.

The MyTransition App is a tool to help youth feel ready to transition to adult health care system. Transition is a time of change with some new learning, but the MyTransition App has gathered tools to help youth to be organized and confident in this transition.

The Aftercare Benefits Initiative (ABI) is a comprehensive health and dental benefits program for former youth in care. The program provides a broad range of benefit coverage, including prescription drug, dental, vision, extended health benefits, counselling, and life skills support services.

We believe knowledge is most valuable when it is shared. PPT offers factsheets on birth control options, sexually transmitted infections, sexual pleasure and related issues to help you make informed choices about your sexual health.

BounceBack® is a free skill-building program managed by the Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA). It is designed to help adults and youth 15+ manage low mood, mild to moderate depression and anxiety, stress or worry. Delivered over the phone with a coach and through online videos, participants will get access to tools that will support them on their path to mental wellness.

SickKids Centre for Community Mental Health works with children, youth and their families to provide mental health support and treatment that is informed by research and evidence. They hold prevention and early intervention programs, family, group or individual therapy, day treatment and numerous other programs and services.

NEDIC provides information, resources, referrals and support to Canadians affected by eating disorders. They also have a Helpline and Instant Chat.

If you need help accessing primary care, a CHC can help you see doctors, nurse practitioners, social workers, dietitians and others. You can receive health care, education and advice, as well as access to resources from other community agencies from CHCs.

Stella’s Place provides free mental health services for young adults ages 16 to 29. We have a holistic menu of programs, including peer support, clinical services, employment support, wellness, art, and recovery programs. We work to help young adults learn skills, build community and be empowered to manage their own mental health.

SAPACCY provides support and counselling to African and Caribbean Canadian youth who are dealing with problem substance use and mental health concerns.

This page contains fact-based resources on various sexual health topics including pregnancy, contraception, STIs, what to expect at a sexual health care appointment.

Nearly half of all youth who leave the Ontario child welfare system experience homelessness by the time they are 25. At the very least they experience housing insecurity in the best of situations. Obtaining affordable housing is a crisis and many homeowners fail to see the potential in tenants that are young and have little to no credit history. Creating Roots offers an all-inclusive housing education program and personalized supports to help youth find safe, long-term housing.

Apatisiwin is a Swampy Cree word meaning “employment, training, and jobs”. The vision of the Apatisiwin Program is that Indigenous people gain education, experience, and skills to achieve and maintain meaningful employment. Apatisiwin offers employment and training services and supports through 19 funded and non-funded program interventions. Interventions are defined as an action plan activity, within a specific timeframe, co-developed by a direct-service user and an Employment or Youth Employment Counsellor.

The Ontario Student Assistance Program (OSAP) is a financial aid program that can help you pay for college or university.

A transitional program promoting independence and housing stability for youth exiting the child welfare system in the GTA.

Youth in Transition's workers can help you access support and resources on housing, income, job searching, and more.

These eight e-learning videos complement the Financial Basics workshop material. They are an easy and accessible alternative way to boost financial knowledge and plan a more secure financial future. You can use them as part of a Financial Basics workshop, or watch them on your own.

A free, comprehensive online learning program that provides basic information and tools to help adults manage their personal finances and gain the confidence they need to make better financial decisions.

This workshop on credit reports and scores is designed to be a standalone set of educational materials that can be delivered by anybody. It includes information on: what’s included in a credit report; how to improve your credit score; how to check your credit report for errors and signs of fraud;
what to do if you find an error in your credit report.

The Youth Success Corner Finance section highlights financial resources for youth currently and formerly in care.

The Youth Success Corner Employment section highlights employment resources for youth currently and formerly in care.

"Covenant House is here for youth in crisis and homeless youth, ages 16 to 24. If you have no safe place to stay, we are here for you. Youth who stay with us come from many different backgrounds. We welcome everyone regardless of race, religion, gender identity or sexual orientation. We are more than just a place to stay. Our caring staff get to know you and give you the help you need. Our programs give you the tools and skills to improve your life and build a future."

The Reaching Home program is aimed at the prevention and reduction of homelessness and encourages partnerships that contribute to a more sustainable and comprehensive continuum of support designed to help the homeless move to self-sufficiency and to prevent those at risk from becoming homeless. Reaching Home program sites operate based on identified community need ranging from transitional houses to housing workers and provide cultural safe supports to Indigenous people experiencing homelessness.

The Black Youth Employment Assistance Program (BYEAP) is a 12-week, virtual employment and entrepreneurial-focused program for Black Women (trans, cis, femmes), Nonbinary and Gender-non-conforming survivors of gender-based violence. BYEAP provides employment-focused training opportunities and mental health resources to support survivors in developing their employability skills, business ideas and wellness strategies for job retention.

Miziwe Biik Aboriginal Employment and Training is seeking an Employment Advisor in the Employment Resource Centre. The Employment Advisor will provide advice, assistance and information to clients on all aspects of employment search and training needs.

The CEE Centre For Young Black Professionals is a Toronto based charity that is dedicated to addressing the economic and social barriers that affect Black youth ages 14 and over who are not in employment, education, or training (NEET).

We help job seekers, workers and employers with advice, grants and other services around public and private sector employment.

love is respect is the national resource to disrupt and prevent unhealthy relationships and intimate partner violence by empowering young people through inclusive and equitable education, support, and resources. A project of the National Domestic Violence Hotline, love is respect offers 24/7 information, support, and advocacy to young people between the ages of 13 and 26 who have questions or concerns about their romantic relationships. We also provide support to concerned friends and family members, teachers, counselors, and other service providers through the same free and confidential services via phone, text, and live chat.

Being harassed online is never ok, and HeartMob is here to support you in anyway we can. On this page you'll find links to our guides, information on supportive organizations, and other helpful resources.

We believe knowledge is most valuable when it is shared. PPT offers factsheets on birth control options, sexually transmitted infections, sexual pleasure and related issues to help you make informed choices about your sexual health.

This page contains fact-based resources on various sexual health topics including consenting to sexual activity. pregnancy, contraception, STIs, what to expect at a sexual health care appointment.

211 is a helpline and online database of Ontario's community and social services. 211 is answered and updated by highly-trained specialists.

Black Youth Helpline serves all youth and specifically responds to the need for a Black youth specific service, positioned and resourced to promote access to professional, culturally appropriate support for youth, families and schools.

BounceBack® is a free skill-building program managed by the Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA). It is designed to help adults and youth 15+ manage low mood, mild to moderate depression and anxiety, stress or worry. Delivered over the phone with a coach and through online videos, participants will get access to tools that will support them on their path to mental wellness.

ConnexOntario provides free and confidential health services information for people experiencing problems with alcohol and drugs, mental illness, or gambling by connecting them with services in their area.

At one of Ontario’s Distress Centres you can find a listening ear for anyone who is feeling lonely, depressed, suicidal, or struggling otherwise. Most centres operate 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and include Suicide Survivor programs, support services for youth, telephone call-out programs for seniors and other vulnerable populations, mental health crisis lines, and more.

The CMHO database search provides access to child and youth mental health centres across the province that provide free counselling and supports for families. They include virtual, phone, and in-person walk-in clinics with sessions available for children, youth, and caregivers without a referral or an OHIP card.

Gerstein Crisis Centre provides crisis intervention, wellness and recovery activities, and training and education. Live help can be obtained 24/7 in over 180 languages.

Good2Talk provides confidential support services for post-secondary students in Ontario and Nova Scotia.

The Hope for Wellness Help Line offers immediate mental health counselling and crisis intervention to all Indigenous peoples across Canada.

Kids Help Phone is available through Text, Phone, Live Chat, and Messenger 24/7.

Youth Line offers confidential and non-judgemental peer support through our telephone, text and chat services. Get in touch with a peer support volunteer from Sunday to Friday, 4:00PM to 9:30 PM.

Naseeha provides a confidential helpline for young Muslims to receive immediate, anonymous, and confidential support over the phone from 12 – 9 pm, 7 days a week (Eastern Standard Time) and over text Monday to Friday.

NEDIC provides information, resources, referrals and support to Canadians affected by eating disorders. They also have a Helpline and Instant Chat.

SickKids Centre for Community Mental Health works with children, youth and their families to provide mental health support and treatment that is informed by research and evidence. They hold prevention and early intervention programs, family, group or individual therapy, day treatment and numerous other programs and services.

Togetherall is an online, 24/7, anonymous, peer-to-peer support community for mental health.

Trans Lifeline’s Hotline is a peer support phone service run by trans people for trans and questioning peers. Some of the best support that trans people can receive is from trans community members with shared lived experience. They also have a Family & Friends Line, which provides peer support for friends, partners, family members and professionals supporting trans loved ones and community members.

Created by the Government of Canada in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Wellness Together Canada provides free, live counselling by phone or text for youth and adults. Wellness Together Canada also provides resources and support for mental health and substance use.

Immediate mental health counselling is available for children, youth, young adults and their families, and families with infants.

Youth Wellness Hubs Ontario are fully integrated “one-stop-shops” for youth aged 12-25, to address their needs related to mental health, substance use, primary care, education, employment, training, housing and other community and social services. These hubs also include peer services, outreach, and system navigation services. Visit the website to locate a hub in your area.

Legal services for young people under 18 and homeless youth under 25 in Ontario.

Pro Bono Ontario is committed to helping Ontarians with their everyday civil legal needs. If you can’t afford a lawyer, call our Free Legal Advice Hotline for up to 30 minutes of free legal advice and assistance. The toll-free number is 1-855-255-7256.

This brochure helps young people understand their rights under Ontario's Youth and Family Services Law.

Learn about your rights as a child, youth or young person. Find out about the laws that protect you, where you can go to make a complaint and other helpful resources.

ADRIO’s member directory allows you to find full members working in and for the alternative dispute resolution industry in Ontario. Use it to quickly and easily find a mediator, arbitrator, facilitator, investigator, coach or other ADR practitioner.

The Ombudsman resolves and investigates complaints about any matter concerning children and youth receiving services from Ontario children's aid societies, foster homes, group homes, secure treatment facilities and youth justice facilities. Youth can find a link to make a complaint on this page.

On this page, you'll find Ombudsman Ontario's Children and Youth-related presentations, speeches, and other select video resources.

Learn about your rights as a child, youth or young person. Find out about the laws that protect you, where you can go to make a complaint and other helpful resources.

Learn about the forms, directives and guidelines for service providers referenced in provincial legislation and regulations.

Learn about programs, financial support and health benefits for youth who are in, leaving or have left the care of a children's aid society.

Learn how we’re transforming the child welfare system and find out about the plan we introduced in July 2020.

211 is a helpline and online database of Ontario's community and social services. 211 is answered and updated by highly-trained specialists.

The following has been compiled to help students and youth in Toronto and the GTA access resources.

Choose a location to search for physical or virtual support programs and services available to kids, teens and young adults across Canada!

OCAC is dedicated to ensuring young people live in safe, nurturing environments, and where they are active participants in their lives and social change.

The following resources are written for youth who are aging out of out-of-home care, providing practical information on topics that may be important as they transition to adulthood.