About this guide
This guide is intended to provide a general overview of psychotropic medication use and administration in the child welfare context, with a specific focus on use by and administration to children and youth in care.
About psychotropic medications
Psychotropic medications are prescribed medications that affect an individual's mind, emotions, mood, and/or behaviours. Psychotropic medications include anti-psychotics, anti-depressants, anti-anxiety medications, mood stabilizers, and ADHD medications. While psychotropic medications can be effective for managing certain conditions, they can have serious side effects, especially for young people. There are also concerns abut the number of psychotropic medications that are prescribed and administered to children and youth in care.
Ontario resources
- Practical guide for agencies and workers considering the use of psychotropic medications with children and youth in care [2016]This resource provides themes and findings from a literature review and stakeholder consultation, as well as a collection of practical checklists to use when working with children and youth who may need psychotropic medications. Note: login to myOACAS required to access
- Standards of care for the administration of psychotropic medications to children and youth living in licensed residential settings [2009]This document provides a summary of the recommendations of an expert panel convened to address the issue of the administration of psychotropic medications to children and youth in provincially licensed residential settings in Ontario
Research and background
- Child welfare: Oversight of psychotropic medication for children in foster care [2017]This report provides background on the mental health needs of young people in foster care in the U.S., and the prevalence of psychotropic medication use among them
- Is there an effective policy framework for oversight and monitoring of the use of psychotropic medication by youth in out-of-home care? [2018]Issue brief from Casey Family Programs on the topic of oversight and monitoring of psychotropic medications
- Mental health of children and youth: Psychotropic medications [2016]PARTicle. Note: login required; must be a PART member to access
- Psychotropic medication oversight among youth in custody of state child welfare systems [2016]Recording of a conference workshop featuring the experiences of a former youth in care, specifically in relation to how psychotropic medication was prescribed and used
- Children exposed to maltreatment: Assessment and the role of psychotropic medication [2020]Clinical report from the American Academy of Pediatrics. A brief summary is also here
Practice guides and tools
- Supporting youth in foster care in making healthy choices: A guide for caregivers and caseworkers on trauma, treatment, and psychotropic medications [2015]This guide is intended to help workers, resource parents, or other caring adults learn about the trauma experienced by youth in care and the treatment options, including approaches other than psychotropic medications. The guide presents strategies for seeking help for youth, identifying appropriate treatments, and supporting youth in making decisions about their mental health
- Two tools to support shared decision-making for youth and caregivers considering psychotropic medications: A field guide for child welfare team decision-making and an option grid treatment decision aid [2018]Webinar recording, slides, one-page resource with practice points, and field care guide. Note: login required; must be a PART member to access
Resources for young people
- Making healthy choices: A guide on psychotropic medications for youth in foster care [2012]This guide was created for young people in care and provides information related to making decisions about mental health, treatment options, and the use of psychotropic medications
- Minds Matter toolkit for youth and caregiversToolkit with the aim of improving the prescribing of psychotropic medications to young people in care
Maternal use of psychotropic medications
- Exposure to psychotropic medications and other substances during pregnancy and lactation: A handbook for health care providers [2007]This publication provides information relating to the care of women who are taking psychotropic medications or other substances during pregnancy and postpartum
- Breastfeeding: Maternal use of psychotropic drugs [2018]Evidence-based care sheet from the Social Work Reference Center. Note: you have to be authenticated by OACAS’s library databases to access
