OACAS subscription databases
Note: The following databases are available to OACAS staff and members through a subscription purchased by OACAS. You must be recognized as an authenticated user by EBSCOHost in order to access these databases.
To be authenticated, members can access the EBSCOhost databases through:
- The OACAS Member Site on the OACAS Learning page;
- the 'Library Resources' tab in Brightspace D2L; or,
- the myOACAS Learning Portal in the Library Resources tab.
- Sociology Source UltimateSociology Source Ultimate is a comprehensive sociology and social work research database available from EBSCO. It provides access to over 1,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals, including over 50 titles specific to child welfare, child and youth development, and family studies
Subject headings:
Child welfare
Social work with children
Family social work
Child welfare workers
Child abuse
Child protection services
Institutional care of children
Foster children
Foster home care
Kinship care
Permanency planning
Family reunification
- Nonprofit Organization Reference CenterNonprofit Organization Reference Center is a research database of peer-reviewed journals and other publications relevant to the non-profit sector. Covered topics include corporate and board governance, human resource management, volunteer engagement, public relations, and more
- Social Work Reference CenterSocial Work Reference Center is a specialized information portal providing access to quick lessons, topic overviews, and other ready-reference materials specifically designed for front-line professionals in social work and mental health
Other databases & catalogues
- CWRP Publications CatalogueDatabase of Canadian research publications related to child welfare from the Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal (CWRP)
- Child Welfare Information Gateway LibraryThis catalogue for the library of the Children's Bureau (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) is a comprehensive resource for searching information and research relevant to child welfare
- Child Abuse Library Online (CALiO)This digital collection is maintained by the National Children’s Advocacy Center and provides access to over 3,000 openly available documents
- Indigenous Knowledge PortalCollection of literature reviews, reports, guides, films, booklets, studies, journal articles and presentations all related to Indigenous children and families in Canada and similar countries
- NSPCC LibraryCatalogue for the library of the National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (UK), containing records for over 40,000 resources related to child protection and child abuse
- The Maternal and Child Health Digital LibraryThis digital library provides provides access to current evidence to promote maternal and child health
