Child Welfare Information Sources

Information sheets produced by the Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal

Publications for caseworkers, adoption professionals, and other child welfare professionals covering research, practices, and policies. Example bulletins include "Human Trafficking and Child Welfare: A Guide for Caseworkers" and "Providing Post-adoption Services"

General information on child abuse and neglect, the child welfare system, and federal (US) legislation. Example factsheets include "Long-Term Consequences of Child Abuse and Neglect" and "Disaster Planning for Child Welfare Agencies"

Research and program examples that demonstrate evidence-based practices. Example issue briefs include "Concurrent Planning: What the Evidence Shows" and "Immigration and Child Welfare"

Collection of practice notes (quick reference tools) and practice guides (in-depth resources on complex issues) covering a variety of topics for child welfare professionals in the field. Note: login to myOACAS required to access

Ready-reference resources from the Social Work Reference Center, organized alphabetically. An average quick lesson will provide a summary or overview of a topic or issue in narrative form, as well as information organized by the following sections: facts and figures (for example, prevalence rates); risk factors; signs and symptoms; and relevant laws and legislation. In addition, information relevant to assessment, treatment, and discharge planning for the topic or issue is highlighted

Collection of 1-page summaries of seminal research articles on child welfare workforce topics. From the National Child Welfare Workforce Institute (NCWWI)

Summaries of individual publications and reviews of literature by topic. From the National Children's Advocacy Center

Series of bibliographies for practitioners working with children and adolescents who have been sexually, emotionally or physically abused. These bibliographies provide citations with abstracts to selected publications on selected topics. From the National Children's Advocacy Center

Formerly known as the Cardiff Child PrOtection Systematic REviews project (CORE INFO), this collection of systematic reviews is now managed by the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (UK)

Reviews of interventions in child and family services based on systematic reviews of existing evidence

Searchable database of programs that can be utilized by professionals that serve children and families involved with the child welfare system. The database provides information on both evidence-based and non-evidence-based child welfare related practices

This curated list of resources is maintained by the Child Welfare Information Gateway. To support child welfare professionals, resources are categorized under 10 broad topics