EBSCOHost research databases

It's now possible to sign in and access EBSCO resources through your Google Account. This makes it easier to access research as you no longer need to go through the OACAS Member Site or myOACAS Learning to be authenticated to access library databases.

To set up your Google sign-in for EBSCO, follow these steps:

1. Log into your Google Account at https://accounts.google.com/Login? (Note: if you don't already have a Google Account you can create a free one here)
2. Access the EBSCO databases via the links provided on the OACAS Member Site or myOACAS Learning (instructions on how to do this here)
3. Click on Sign In on the right side of the top navigation menu
4. Click on the link underneath the Sign in button that says "Create one now"
5. Click on the blue Sign up with Google button
6. Choose your Google Account to confirm you want to associate the account with EBSCO then on the next page agree to EBSCO's Personal Data Retention and Usage terms. Note: If you are not already logged into your Google Account you will be asked to enter your account credentials first

To sign into EBSCO using your Google Account, follow these steps:

1. Log into your Google Account
2. Go to https://search.ebscohost.com
3. Click on the blue Sign in with Google button above the fields User ID and Password. You should be automatically authenticated into EBSCO. Note: If you are not already logged into your Google Account you will be asked to enter your account credentials first

Once inside OACAS’s library database portal, you should now be able to see that you are signed in and that new options are available to you from the top of the page such as "Update My Account" and "Sign Out."

If you use Google Scholar, it's also possible to set up your Google Account so that it detects resources that are available to you through OACAS's database subscriptions. This allows you to start your research on Google Scholar, a free search engine that has broader coverage and offers a more intuitive search experience than EBSCO.

To set up your account on Google Scholar to detect EBSCO resources available to you, follow these steps:

1. Log into your Google Account at https://accounts.google.com/Login? and navigate to Google Scholar (Note: if you don't already have a Google Account you can create a free one here)
2. On Google Scholar under the Settings menu, click Library links
3. Enter OACAS under the Show library access links search bar
4. Check the box beside Ontario Association of Children's Aid Societies (OACAS) and click Save

When searching on Google Scholar, keep an eye out for results with a Full-text access (OACAS) link next to them. Click on this link to access the full-text resource via EBSCO. Note: If you are having trouble accessing resources through these links, you may want to first sign into EBSCO using your Google Account to ensure you are being recognized as an authenticated user when on Google Scholar.