OACAS Library Guides: Intimate partner violence (IPV) and child welfare: IPV in marginalized communities

IPV in communities with disabilities

Fact sheet on women with disabilities and violence
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227160552/https://www.dawncanada.net/main/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/English-Violence-January-2014.pdf
Issue 7: Violence against women with disabilities and deaf women [2013]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227161013/http://www.vawlearningnetwork.ca/issue-7-violence-against-women-disabilities-and-deaf-women
Issue 27: Women with disabilities and D/deaf women, housing, and violence [2019]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227161743/http://www.vawlearningnetwork.ca/issue-27-women-disabilities-and-ddeaf-women-housing-and-violence
Violence against women with disabilities: Violence prevention review [2011]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227160835/https://www.canadianwomen.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/PDF-VP-Resources-Vecova_CWF_-Women-with-Disabilities_-2011.pdf
Violent victimization of women with disabilities [2014]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227161511/https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/pub/85-002-x/2018001/article/54910-eng.pdf
Culture, language, and access: Key considerations for serving deaf survivors of domestic and sexual violence [2015]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227170428/https://files.ctctcdn.com/aae129c3201/24a02178-dff3-47eb-a4ed-0abe5f736897.pdf
Double oppression: Violence against disabled women – A resource pack for practitioners
more...less...
https://niaendingviolence.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/double-oppression-violence-against-disabled-women.pdf
Eight step advocacy plan for deaf and hard of hearing survivors of sexual assault [2015]
Serving sexual violence survivors with disabilities
Safety planning for domestic violence victims with disabilities [2010]
Tips for making connections with survivors experiencing psychiatric disabilities [2011]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190307201049/http://nationalcenterdvtraumamh.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/Tipsheet_Making-Connections_NCDVTMH_Aug2011.pdf

IPV in LGBTQ2S+ communities

Fact sheet: Intimate partner violence in LGBTQ communities [2016]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227171806/https://www.rainbowhealthontario.ca/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/RHO_FactSheet_LGBTQIntimatePartnerViolence_E.pdf
Issue 12: Intimate partner violence in rainbow communities [2015]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227171929/http://www.vawlearningnetwork.ca/issue-12-intimate-partner-violence-rainbow-communities
LGBTQ relationship violence
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227172502/https://www.thehotline.org/is-this-abuse/lgbt-abuse/
Gay, lesbian, bisexual and trans power and control wheel
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227172815/http://www.ncdsv.org/images/TCFV_glbt_wheel.pdf
Discussion paper: Intimate partner violence in rainbow communities [2014]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227172924/http://www.vawlearningnetwork.ca/sites/vawlearningnetwork.ca/files/IPV_Knowledge-Exchange_Final_Report.pdf
Culturally competent service provision to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender survivors of sexual violence [2009]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227173715/https://vawnet.org/sites/default/files/materials/files/2016-09/AR_LGBTSexualViolence.pdf
Barriers faced by LGBT people in accessing non-LGBT domestic violence support services
more...less...
http://web.archive.org/web/20220325094440/https://www.lgbtsand.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/For-Service-Providers-Barriers.pdf
Intimate partner violence: Same-sex relationships [2016]
Trauma-informed approaches for LGBQT* survivors of intimate partner violence: A review of literature and a set of practice observations [2016]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190307200326/http://www.nationalcenterdvtraumamh.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/TIPforLGBQTSurvivors_LitReview.pdf

IPV in racialized, immigrant, and refugee communities

Issue 26: Intimate partner violence against immigrant and refugee women [2018]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227175002/http://www.vawlearningnetwork.ca/issue-26-intimate-partner-violence-against-immigrant-and-refugee-women
Challenges and promising practices with risk assessment with immigrant and refugee victims and perpetrators of domestic violence
Family violence when a woman is sponsored by a spouse or partner [2017]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20181204213748/https://www.cleo.on.ca/en/publications/famvio
Immigrant power and control wheel
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227175428/http://endingviolence.org/files/uploads/ImmigrantWomenPCwheel.pdf
Working with immigrant and refugee communities to prevent violence against women [2017]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227175733/http://www.mcwh.com.au/downloads/MCWH-PVAW-Guide-to-working-with-immigrant-and-refugee-communities-V1.1.pdf
Race, gendered violence, and the rights of women with precarious immigration status [2017]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227175844/https://schliferclinic.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/Race-Gendered-Violence-and-the-Rights-of-Women-with-Precarious-Immgration-Status.pdf
Recognizing and responding to intimate partner violence: Resource guide for refugee resettlement assistance programs in Ontario [2017]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227181417/http://rapworkers.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/VAW-RAP-resource-guide-final.pdf
Protocol for supporting survivors of intimate partner violence in Ontario resettlement assistance program centres [2017]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227181943/http://rapworkers.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/RAP-supportingSurvivors-protocol.pdf
#UsToo - A call to action: Meeting the needs of migrant and racialized communities in anti-gender-based-violence work in Ontario [2018]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190402185923/http://www.oaith.ca/assets/library/us-too.pdf
Domestic violence in sponsor relationships among immigrant and refugee women and its links to homelessness: Implications for service delivery [2006]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190307150629/https://www.homelesshub.ca/sites/default/files/attachments/NRP_ENDomestic_Violence_in_Sponsor_Relationship_samong.pdf

IPV in rural communities

Going the distance: Supporting rural and remote survivors with family law issues [2016]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190307150302/https://lukesplace.ca/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/Going-the-Distance-August-2016.pdf
Critical choices: Rural women, violence and homelessness [2013]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227183124/http://domesticpeace.ca/images/uploads/documents/CriticalChoicesRuralWomenViolenceandHomelessnessFinal2013_000.pdf
Safety in rural areas [2016]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227184926/https://www.womenslaw.org/about-abuse/safety-tips/safety-rural-areas
A rural barrier: Escaping domestic violence in a rural setting offers unique challenges [2015]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227185057/https://www.domesticshelters.org/articles/escaping-violence/a-rural-barrier
Rural realities faced by service providers and women survivors of intimate partner violence when navigating the justice system [2016]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190227185458/https://www.unb.ca/fredericton/arts/centres/mmfc/_resources/pdfs/ruralrealitiesfinalenglishmarch2016withtitlepageincolour.pdf
Canadian Domestic Homicide Prevention Initiative: Rural, Remote & Northern Populations Research Team
Rural, small-town women nearly twice as likely to be assaulted by their partners: StatCan [2016]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190304192437/https://globalnews.ca/news/2520345/rural-small-town-women-nearly-twice-as-likely-to-be-assaulted-by-their-partners-statcan/
Rural partnership guide: Building partnerships between rural service providers and faith communities to support domestic and sexual violence victims and survivors [2013]
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190304193148/https://docs.wixstatic.com/ugd/991f52_04cd043567434e9c9995ea73e6471802.pdf
Risk assessment with vulnerable populations: Challenges and promising practices with victims in rural communities [2012]