OACAS Library Guides: Intimate partner violence (IPV) and child welfare: Assessment and safety planning

Assessment and Safety Planning

This guide has a broad selection of resources pertaining to assessment and safety planning. This page pulls out each of those resources in order to be a quick resource for child welfare workers who are supporting families dealing with intimate partner violence.

VIDEO: How to Spot the Warning Signs of Coercive Control
*This video was created by the Globe & Mail and is silent in order to provide discretion to the viewer.
Working with First Nations, Inuit, and Métis families who have experienced family violence [2012]
This OACAS practice guide is intended to provide child welfare professionals with tools to work effectively with First Nations, Inuit, and Métis families when assessing allegations of maltreatment in the context of family violence
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20180129200431/http://www.oacas.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/fn_eng_guide.pdf
You are not alone: A toolkit for Indigenous women, girls, and gender diverse people escaping violence [2018]
This resource from the Native Women's Association of Canada provides Indigenous women with community safety planning resources and also includes a directory of services available in every province and territory
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190926133128/https://www.nwac.ca/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/2018-Yana-Handbook-English-Final.pdf
Domestic violence risk assessment, risk management and safety planning with Indigenous populations [2018]
Issue brief developed by the Canadian Domestic Homicide Prevention Initiative with Vulnerable Populations (CDHPIVP)
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190304201959/http://cdhpi.ca/domestic-violence-risk-assessment-risk-management-and-safety-planning-indigenous-populations
Safety planning for domestic violence victims with disabilities [2010]
Risk assessment with vulnerable populations: Challenges and promising practices with victims in rural communities [2012]
Safety planning with children and youth: A toolkit for working with children and youth exposed to domestic violence [2013]
This toolkit provides practical information on how to involve children in the development of the safety plan
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20180209190255/https://www2.gov.bc.ca/assets/gov/law-crime-and-justice/criminal-justice/victims-of-crime/vs-info-for-professionals/training/child-youth-safety-toolkit.pdf
Safety planning for children [2014]
Part of a video series developed by Caledon\Dufferin Victim Services
Intimate partner violence: Safety planning [2018]
Quick lesson from the Social Work Reference Center (note: you have to be authenticated by OACAS’s library databases to access)
Safety planning video series
Series of eight videos from Caledon\Dufferin Victim Services covering safety planning at home, safety planning at work, cyber safety, and more
The Danger Assessment
The Danger Assessment is an instrument that helps to determine the level of danger an abused woman has of being killed by her intimate partner
Safety planning with domestic violence victims and their children
Collection of resources curated by the Child Welfare Information Gateway
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190304204250/https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/domviolence/casework-practice/safety-planning/
Risk assessment, risk management, safety planning
Collection of resources curated by the Canadian Domestic Homicide Prevention Initiative (CDHPI)
more...less...
https://web.archive.org/web/20190304212034/http://www.cdhpi.ca/risk-assessment-risk-management-safety-planning
The Ontario Domestic Assault Risk Assessment (ODARA) training program
The ODARA is a tool for estimating the risk that a domestic violence offender will assault a partner again. It was created by the Ontario Provincial Police Behavioural Sciences and Analysis Section and researchers at Waypoint Centre for Mental Health Care