Discussing race, sexual orientation, and other topics related to identity
Some researchers have proposed that professionals are more likely to rely on inference or observation – rather than self-reporting – when they are uncomfortable discussing race, sexual orientation, gender identity, and other topics related to identity. For this reason, we have assembled a selection of resources intended to build awareness and competency in support of these conversations.
Understand terminology
- How to talk about Indigenous people [2017]In this video, Inuk journalist Ossie Michelin provides a quick overview of terms to use when referring to Indigenous peoples
- Sex? Sexual orientation? Gender identity? Gender expression? [2015]This resource from Tolerance.org provides a basic overview of gender and sexuality terminology and concepts
- The 519 glossary of termsA list of definitions intended to facilitate shared understandings around equity, diversity, inclusion, and awareness. From the 519, a City of Toronto agency and a registered charity committed to the health, happiness and full participation of 2SLGBTQ+ communities
Recognize the intersections between identities, oppression, and service delivery
- One Vision One Voice: Changing the Ontario child welfare system to better serve African Canadians – Practice framework part 1 [2016]Part one of a practice framework which calls for sweeping reforms to the Ontario child welfare system to address systemic racism and to reduce the overrepresentation of African Canadian children in care. Part one includes a literature review looking at the systemic forces that bring families of African descent into contact with child welfare
- The other side of the door [2014]Practice guide developed by OACAS and intended for child welfare professionals working with First Nations, Inuit and Métis families and communities
- Welcoming and celebrating sexual orientation and gender diversity in families [2012]This publication from Best Start is designed to inspire reflection on gender and sexuality among service providers in Ontario. It includes definitions for some commonly-used terms in LGBTQ communities
- Serving LGBT2SQ children and youth in the child welfare system: A resource guide [2018]Resource guide developed to help Ontario child welfare professionals, residential service providers, and caregivers (e.g., foster, kin, and customary caregivers) better meet the needs of the LGBT2SQ children and youth they serve
- Cultural competence for child and youth health professionalsThis resource from the Canadian Pediatric Society provides information on cultural competence and its importance in improving care for children, youth, and families.
- Immigration status matters: A guide to addressing immigration status issues for children and youth in care [2014]This guide outlines best practices in working with children and youth in care who have immigration status issues and require support to be come permanent residents and, ultimately, Canadian citizens.
Prepare for and promote dialogue
- Engaging in conversations about gender, race, and ethnicity in the workplace [2016]This toolkit from Catalyst was designed to support meaningful conversations about gender, race, and ethnicity in the workplace
- Let's talk! Discussing race, racism and other difficult topics with studentsWhile intended for educators, this guide from Tolerance.org provides helpful information on preparing to discuss race and racism
- Race matters toolkit [2006]This collection of resources from the Annie E. Casey Foundation includes a guide on talking about race and a fact sheet on issues of racial inequity in child welfare