Case studies and examples
- By the numbers: California child welfare 2016Presents child welfare data by age, race, and gender
- Dismantling racial inequity: A data-driven approach to improving outcomes for black girls in child welfare [2017]Webinar presentation slides highlight how Allegheny County Department of Human Services used data to inform child welfare practice and address racial disproportionality.
- KIDS COUNT Data CenterThis project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation provides data related to the well-being of children in the United States. Data can be viewed by topic or identity characteristic.
- By the numbers: Using disaggregated data to inform policies, practices and decision-making [2016]Part of the Annie E. Casey Foundation's Race for Results case study series.
- How Canada’s racial data gaps can be hazardous to your health [2019]Canada lags far behind other countries in tracking how ethnicity affects the labour market, the justice system and health care. What are policy-makers missing?
Tools
- Measuring Health Equity - ToolsA collection of tools and resources designed to assist in the implementation of patient and client demographic data collection in Toronto health-care organizations
- The case for race-based statisticsInfographic and plain-language text from Legal Aid Ontario that makes the case for identity-based data collection
- Improving the welfare of Native children by using & managing data [2018]Two-pager with messaging around how data collection can help address service delivery issues
Journal articles
- Building a Foundation to Reduce Health Inequities: Routine Collection of Sociodemographic Data in Primary Care byPublication: The Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine, 29(3), 348–355Publication Date: 2016This article describes the work of health organizations in Toronto (St. Michael's Hospital; The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health; Mount Sinai Hospital; Toronto Public Health) to begin collection of sociodemographic data from patient populations as part of the Tri-Hospital + Toronto Public Health Health Equity Data Collection Research Project Report.
- Can ethnicity data collected at an organizational level be useful in addressing health and healthcare inequities? byPublication: Ethnicity & Health, 19(2), 240-254Publication Date: 2014This article discusses the potential benefits and harms of identity-based data collection in the Canadian health context and addresses issues, considerations, and shortcomings such as patient concerns about perceived discrimination and data quality.
- Primary Care Physicians’ Collection, Comfort, and Use of Race and Ethnicity in Clinical Practice in the United States byPublication: Health Equity, 1(1), 118–126Publication Date: 2017This article examines identity-based data collection by physicians and provides insights into physicians' comfort levels with collecting patient race and ethnicity data.
- Sociodemographic data collection for health equity measurement: a mixed methods study examining public opinions byPublication: International Journal for Equity in Health, 12, 75Publication Date: 2013This article reports on a study of public opinion in Ontario regarding the collection of patient sociodemographic information in healthcare settings for equity monitoring purposes.
- A patient and family data domain collection framework for identifying disparities in pediatrics: results from the pediatric health equity collaborative byPublication: BMC PediatricsPublication Date: 2018This article reports on the work of research and clinical professional experts working in 10 pediatric care delivery systems in the US and Canada to identify potential best practices for how to collect identity-based data in a pediatric setting.
